Antiques and Inspiration

Yesterday we decided to drive across the river to the Rhinebeck Antiques Fair. We had never gone before and decided that this year we would. There were so many amazing pieces there and so many we could only dream of owning some day. There were lots of inspiring pieces there for me. I had to sneak out my camera for these two…

stuffedbull.jpg carveddeerhead.jpg

Yes, that is a 20 inch tall stuffed bull! I love his shape, he is giving me great ideas for new patterns! And yes, that is a carved deer head with real antlers! What maker of feltidermy would not be in awe of that? Yet another “No animals were harmed in the making of this”… I had to love it!

In the end, this is the little guy that I had to bring home with me!

bearpincushion2.jpg bearpincushioncloseup.jpg

He is a pincushion and I just love him! The little bear stands about 2 1/2 inches tall and is full of cuteness! How could I resist that face? Maybe he will also give me some inspiration for a stuffed bear!

Now I must go finish Choco Bunny so that he can make his debut in my shop tomorrow! After he is finished I will start work on a custom bunny that I was contacted about making last night. Yay, for bunny cuteness!

Have a wonderful day!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Karena said,

    I love that pincushion too!!! I could kick myself. I saw this amazing carved wooden desk caddy a couple of weeks ago in a 2ndhand shop with an owl in the centre with a clock in his tummy & a log-shaped pencil holder one side & a desk calendar the other. Why didn’t I buy it???

  2. 2

    girlsavage said,

    šŸ˜€ I overheard a woman saying yesterday ” My grandmother always said the only things she regrets in life are the things she didn’t buy.” I couldn’t help but laugh and agree.

  3. 3

    Brigitte said,

    Hi dear! I decided to start a WordPress blog, too :3 Yay!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

