Cherry Scones!

We went out for a drive across the river and through Dutchess County yesterday. Misty Mouse found the Fork in the Road…

We found a farm stand where we bought some beautiful cherries…

Today I decided to make some cherry scones for breakfast. I have been craving scones for a couple weeks, but haven’t a fruit on hand that I wanted to try in them. In the cooler months I make them almost every weekend and have the recipe memorized… This is my recipe for the scones I made today:

Cherry Scones
preheat oven to 450 degrees
Sift together:
2 cups flour
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbs. sugar, I use turbinado sugar
cut in finely:
1/4 cup cold butter
stir in:
1 partially beaten egg
1/2 cup milk, I use soy milk
2/3 cups pitted, chopped cherries

Round up on a floured surface. Knead very lightly. Pat out to about 1/2 inch thick. brush with 2-3 Tbs of milk and sprinkle 1 Tbs more sugar over top. Cut into wedges. place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 8 – 10 minutes until golden brown.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    chris said,

    The whole wheat muffins are in the oven! That scone looks fabulous! I’ll try that recipe next.
    Cute picture of misty mouse…

  2. 2

    I love the fork in the road!

  3. 3

    The cherries are beautiful! I’m sure they tasted just as good in the scones!

  4. 4

    Spot said,

    This scone recipe turned out great! I used a little brown sugar on top rather than white, and let the cherries soak in lemon juice a bit too. Thanks for sharing!

  5. 5

    Spot said,

    Just a quick question, though. I had some trouble getting the scones to turn out crumbly and biscuit-like; they ended up having a little bit more of the texture of cake. My dough is really wet and sticky, too, even when I turn it out into flour. Am I missing a step somewhere?

  6. 6

    Marcella said,

    These are totally yummy- I added some apricot to my second batch for a bit more flavor. mmmm!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

