More Scones, This time Raspberry!

This morning I made raspberry scones and messed with the recipe a little more. Today I substituted a 1/2 cup wheat flour for a 1/2 cup of the white. I like to whisked it with a wire whisk instead of sifting the dry ingredients. One thing to be careful of is to not work your dough too much. After adding in the wet stuff I kind of fold it together, gently, with a fork and then when it has almost come together I turn in out on the counter and pat it gently into a 1/2 thick rectangle. Then Brush with milk and sprinkle on the sugar. I usually have excess dry ingredients left on the counter afterwards. Oh and I increased the temperature to 500 degrees today!
I have been revising this recipe for a few years now. I’m trying to get them like a bakery in the West Village in N.Y.C. ‘Mary’s off Jane Bakery’, which sadly has closed. The Ginger/Lime scones there were to die for!

Raspberry Scones
preheat oven to 500 degrees
Sift together:
1 1/2 cups white flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbs. sugar, I use turbinado sugar

cut in 1/4 cup very cold butter so you have little butter particles that are about the size of a small pea.
stir in:
1 partially beaten egg
1/2 cup milk, I use soy milk
1 cups frozen raspberries

Round up on a floured surface. Knead very lightly. Pat out to about 1/2 inch thick. brush with 2-3 Tbs of milk and sprinkle 1 Tbs more sugar over top. Cut into wedges. place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 8 minutes until golden brown.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you are enjoying the recipes!

I’ll be back tomorrow with a new guy for the shop, have a great day!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    tamarasherbes said,

    Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe, too!

  2. 2

    Caroline said,

    Ooh, very yummy! I’m bookmarking this one! Can’t wait to try it for myself–thank you. 🙂

  3. 3

    i’ll try them today with our first blueberries of the summer. thanks!

  4. 4

    Patrizia said,

    It’s fun to play with recipes. Those look great, way I have one?

  5. 5

    […] used my Raspberry Scone recipe to make Blueberry Scones with Lime Sugar. You can read about it here in her blog! The lime sugar […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

