Feltidermy and how it came to be.

I thought today I might show you some more feltidermy. I just added this guy to my shop this week.

fawnfeltidermy.jpg

Mounted Fawn Fletidermy. I love that he looks slightly surpised and confused, yet happy to be there. After all he is a feltidermy, he doesn’t know that he represents a dead animal. He does know that he is a whole lot cuter than a dead animal.

Feltidermy came about by a strange request from a music video producer. I was contacted and asked if I could make a mounted moose head that could be puppeted from behind to lip sync to music. While I actually thought it was not such a weird request, but the fact that it would need to be in Los Angeles, CA 4 days from then was way out there too me. I hadn’t even thought about the mechanics of the whole thing…A pattern would have to be developed, mounting would need figuring out…Let alone the whole puppetry aspect. I decided I had to try to make one, not a puppet version, just mounted. I loved the idea of a mounted felt stuffed animal head!

Here is what I came up with after 2 weeks of work.

feltidermydeer.jpg

Mounted Deer Feltidermy! I am happy to say that this one now has a new home. Don’t worry,you can find more in my shop. There is even a Feltidermy section to make it easier for you to find them. Right now you can find a mounted buck, a lavender jackalope and the mounted fawn.

Yes, I also do custom pieces if you are interested. This is the White Rabbit Mounted Feltidermy that I just made for a customer in the past week.

whiterabbitfeltidermy.jpg

She loved the feltidermy and Powder the White Bunny in my shop. Mix that together with a fascination with Alice in Wonderland and there you go… a brilliant idea! I was so happy to be able to bring this idea to life for her!

24 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kat said,

    hahaha, I absolutely LOVE these guys! So cute, what a great idea 🙂

  2. 2

    I love the feltidermy idea. Very funny and cute!!

  3. 3

    Heather said,

    Wow, I just love your style with these felt animals!

  4. 4

    Molly said,

    This one is my favorite! Can’t wait to see more!

  5. 5

    Jessica said,

    I HAVE to get on of these! You’re a freakin’ genius!

  6. 6

    KJ said,

    Aaah, I agree with Jessica above me: This is genius! So unique and creative and adorable…with just a l’il teensy tinsy bit of morbid creepiness thrown in (just a l’il teensy tinsy bit, though!).

    I love the name and that you told the story behind the evolution of feltidermy — how awesome to be contacted to make something for a music video. Even if you had to decline, I think it’s totally cool that you were asked!

  7. 7

    Lydia said,

    i love this so much!
    i collect rabbits, they are my alter ego!

    make more white ones in the store!!

  8. 8

    Kevinabox said,

    Okay, so, I had this idea, too, but I was going to do it with the Ikea finger-puppets and use little mounting boards. Since I’m lazy and you’re on the road to grand success, I give you this idea for your own profit and fun.

  9. 9

    […] Feltidermy and how it came to be. « girlsavage blog […]

  10. 11

    cmunny said,

    Are you going to make felt jackalope mounts?

  11. 12

    Electra said,

    These are spesh as! Can you do a feltidermy fish, like a marlin or a swordfish, with glitter scales and everything? One that wriggles and sings a dopey song when you press a button – like the one in my Uncle’s billiards room? Or how about a feltidermy bear rug with a big teddy bear head? Oh wow, you’re so inspired it’s inspiring 🙂

  12. 13

    Erinn said,

    Soooo clever and cute. Just awesome. I love the bunny.

  13. 14

    Liz said,

    Wow. The bunny rules.

  14. 15

    […] redonkulousness continues over at Girl Savage and her Etsy […]

  15. 16

    […] redonkulousness continues over at Girl Savage and her Etsy […]

  16. 17

    lisa said,

    I was just in Los Angeles an saw similar work to yours…could it be yours? do you sell your stuff in a cute shop on sunset blvd?

    lisa

  17. 18

    Nim said,

    High-larious! Cute to boot.

  18. 19

    SIJVW said,

    very inspiring. just make me wanna get up and do stuff.

  19. 20

    hollyy said,

    i love your stuff
    your next feltidermy should be michael jaxson

  20. 21

    danielle said,

    Thanks for sharing! Love hearing about the beginnings of feltidermy 😀

  21. 22

    Anne Potter said,

    Absolutely brilliant! Thank you for making such great pieces. I moved to “everyone’s-a-hunter” country years ago, so I truly apprieciate this take on taxidermy. It’s much more my speed! I love it!

  22. 23

    […] ’bout some feltidermy? This entry was posted in Weirdwideweb by admin. Bookmark the […]

  23. 24

    […] ’bout some feltidermy? This entry was posted in Weirdwideweb by chet. Bookmark the […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment